Jonathan Ferrara Gallery Info:

Friday, December 19, 2014

MONICA ZERINGUE awarded Joan Mitchell Foundation Painters and Sculptors Grant

MONICA ZERINGUE ||| "Narcissus"

New York, NY 12.18.14 --- The Joan Mitchell Foundation is pleased to announce the twenty-five recipients of the 2014 Painters & Sculptors Grant Program in the amount of $25,000 each.

Monica Zeringue is one of only two recipients from Louisiana of the 25 National awardees. 

The Painters & Sculptors Grant Program was established in 1993 to acknowledge painters and sculptors creating work of exceptional quality through unrestricted career support. The first year of grants was awarded in 1994 and the Foundation has funded individual artists annually since that time.

Nominators from across the country are invited to recommend artists, at any stage in their career, whom they feel deserve more recognition for their creative achievements and whose practice would significantly benefit from the grant. The candidates' images were viewed for consideration through an anonymous process by a jury panel that convened this fall at the office of the Joan Mitchell Foundation. Nominators and jurors include prominent visual artists and curators.

Established in 1993, the Joan Mitchell Foundation is an artist-endowed non-profit organization. The Foundation celebrates the legacy of Joan Mitchell and expands her vision to support the aspirations and development of diverse contemporary artists. We work to broaden the recognition of artists and their essential contributions to communities and society.

 MONICA ZERINGUE ||| "Odalisque"

December Youth Empowerment Project Panel Discussion at JFG

Wednesday 12.17.14 --- Third of Four Youth Empowerment Project Panels at Jonathan Ferrara Gallery

Forward Cities Initiative event at JFG

Tuesday 12.16.14 --- Jonathan Ferrara Gallery hosted a special reception at the gallery for  the Forward Cities Initiative with attendees from Detroit, Cleveland Durham and New Orleans.

pictured ::: left > right

Peter Reiling ||| The Aspen Institute

Jonathan Ferrara

Denise Byrne ||| Forward Cities Initiative

Christopher Gergen ||| Forward Cities Initiative